Newbie: Addresses in Ableton Live

Hello everyone,

I am a complete Newbie at Open Stage Control. Having browsed through the topics in this forum I am quite intimidated by the level of programming knowledge that everyone here seems to have. I am just a somewhat advanced computer user, but I don’t know to code at all.

Here is where I am stuck: I managed to successfully set up Open Stage Control on my Mac following Jorge Vargas’ tutorial on Youtube. I managed to establish the communication between Open Stage Control and Ableton Live: I created two push buttons that send note values: address /note; preArgs [1,60] and [1,64] respectively. After loading a softsynth in Track 1 in Ableton, I can now play two notes with Open Stage Control. They sound as long as I push the button and stop when I release it. So far everything is fine.

However, now I am stuck: I added a fader to my newly created template, but I have no idea what address I need to put in to control the volume a track in Ableton Live. I have tried different things like /track_1/volume or /control/fader1 but the console always comes back with an error message like the following: ERROR: MIDI: invalid address (/control/fader1).

Where can I find the addresses that Ableton understands for controlling different parameters? Or what am I missing here?

I apologize for what is probably a very stupid question to all of you - but I really am stuck here…

Hi,
It seems you’re mixing up two different kind of messages : OSC and MIDI. OSC messages can have any address and values and can be sent on network targets only (“ip_address:port_number”). MIDI messages are limited to very specific addresses as defined in the documentation, these are converted to actual MIDI messages and can be sent to midi targets only (“midi:device_name”).

To find what Ableton expects for controlling its parameters you’ll need to dig its documentation or maybe ask for help on a forum dedicated to this software.